COMMISSIONERS' PROCEEDINGS CLOUD COUNTY, KANSAS DECEMBER 5, 2022 UNOFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS

Regular session of the December meetings of the Cloud County Board of Commissioners was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on December 5, 2022 in the Commissioners' room at 811 Washington, Concordia, Kansas with Chairman Ron Copple, Members Bill Czapanskiy and Gary Caspers, and County Clerk Shella Thoman present.

County staff attending was: Andy Asch, Highway Administrator; Tonya Sulanka, Health Department Administrator; Toby Marco, Appraiser; and Jeff Thoman, Maintenance Manager.

Others attending: Toby Nosker, KNCK; and Craig Ballou.

Tie breakers (by drawing names) for Solomon, Lyon and Arion Townships were completed with winners of the Clerks position as follows: Solomon – Fred Hirsch; Lyon – Nancy Braiton; and Arion – Sarah Holbert.

Jeff Thoman, Maintenance Manager discussed ordering a heater for the Boiler Room for additional heat. The new system will not emit heat like the old one.

Craig Ballou discussed purchasing the easement near 90th and Fawn. The County purchased the land to widen the road in the 80's however, widening did not happen. Ballou and Asch will work together and present additional information.

Andy Asch, Highway Administrator discussed the Mossburgh pit area rental; Ballou would like to continue the lease.

On a motion by Commissioner Czapanskiy, second by Commissioner Caspers, unanimous vote the Board approved a 5-minute executive session for personnel exception to discuss non-elected personnel resuming open session at 10:24 a.m., including Asch and Thoman.

Tonya Sulanka, Health Department Administrator reported that the jail visits are going well and discussed a billing issue with the new billing system. COVID testing dollars for October was \$1,200 and November was \$1,980. The quarterly pharmacy review will be completed this week.

Toby Marco, Appraiser reported that things were going well and fairly on schedule. They are working on data collection, completing site visits for NRP's and final checks for final reviews. They are in good shape for next year.

On a motion by Commissioner Caspers, second by Commissioner Czapanskiy, unanimous vote the Board approved a 15-minute executive session for personnel exception to discuss non-elected personnel resuming open session at 11:14 a.m., including Marco and Thoman.

On a motion by Commissioner Czapanskiy, second by Commissioner Caspers, unanimous vote the Board approved the continued employment for Eastan Hake at \$17.50 an hour effective November 23, 2022.

On a motion by Commissioner Copple, second by Commissioner Caspers, unanimous vote the Board approved appointing Peggy Barrett as a regular Board member and Ron Copple as an alternate to the Pawnee Mental Health Board.

On a motion by Commissioner Caspers, second by Commissioner Czapanskiy, unanimous vote the Board approved hiring James W. Fiechener as a Recycling Sorter at an introductory wage of \$13.00 an hour effective December 5, 2022.

Recognized the resignation of Austin Wilson, Corrections Officer.

Recognized the award of \$23,093 for the 2022 Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG) through the Kansas Division of Emergency Management

The Board approved the following expenses totaling \$344,196.86

 General Fund - \$46,653.53
 Road & Bridge - \$86,931.87

 Juvenile Justice - \$375.69
 Special Machinery & Equip - \$148,960.00

 Appraisal - \$988.51
 Juvenile Reinvestment - \$112.32

 Community Correc - \$729.26
 County Health - \$5,074.39

Noxious Weed - \$544.22 Election - \$466.72

Solid Waste - \$53,172.39 Co Tourism & Convention - \$187.96

The above expense detail is available at the County Clerk's office and the Clerk's Public Records webpage.

On a motion by Commissioner Caspers, second by Commissioner Czapanskiy, unanimous vote the Board approved the November 28, 2022 minutes as presented.

On a motion by Commissioner Czapanskiy, second by Commissioner Caspers, unanimous vote the Board adjourned at 11:50 a.m., until Monday December 12, 2022.

	Cloud County Board of Commissioners
Attested:	
	Ron Copple, Chairman
	Bill Czapanskiy, Member
Shalla Thoman County Clark	Com Cospors Mombor
Shella Thoman, County Clerk	Gary Caspers, Member