COMMISSIONERS' PROCEEDINGS CLOUD COUNTY, KANSAS AUGUST 8, 2022 UNOFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS

Regular session of the July meetings of the Cloud County Board of Commissioners was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on August 8, 2022 in the Commissioners' room at 811 Washington, Concordia, Kansas with Chairman Ron Copple, Members Bill Czapanskiy and Gary Caspers, and County Clerk Shella Thoman present.

County staff attending was: Andy Asch, Highway Administrator; Toby Marco, Appraiser; Mike Hake, Solid Waste Director; Dawn Synder, Community Corrections / JJA Assistant Director; Jeff Thoman, Maintenance Manager; JoDee LeDuc, County Treasurer.

Others attending: Toby Nosker, KNCK; and Kristi Benyshek, District Court Clerk.

Andy Asch, Highway Administrator discussed the recommendation from Coughlin Company, LLP.

On a motion by Commissioner Czapanskiy, second by Commissioner Caspers, unanimous vote the Board approved following the recommendation of David Green, Foulston Siefken, LLP to reject the settlement offer from Coughlin & Company regarding the Ames / Miltonvale road and attend mediation.

Department Head 9:20 - 9:48 a.m.

Mike Hake, Solid Waste Director – Pouring concrete in front of the scale, reported the city is closing the tree pile many residents used and would increase usage at the Transfer Station. Discussed additional hours, finding employees for the extra coverage time is an issue.

Kristi Benyshek, District Court Clerk – Transferred to the new system and working on the kinks with the Sheriff's office.

Dawn Synder, Community Corrections / JJA Assistant Director – Have 2 open positions that they will be interviewing for this week.

Toby Marco, Appraiser – Discussed payment under protest and replacing 1 computer.

Andy Asch, Highway Administrator – Has a part-time and full-time position open.

JoDee LeDuc, County Treasurer – Real estate publication is complete and as of August 1<sup>st</sup> totals \$343,931.73 delinquent with interest and penalty.

Jeff Thoman, Maintenance Manager – Repaired the hole in the ceiling in the main hallway and working on updating the kitchen and small meeting room.

Shella Thoman, County Clerk – Election went well, Revenue Neutral Rate (RNR) notices will be mailed out before the end of the week and received the 2<sup>nd</sup> round of the ARPA funding.

Ron Copple, County Commissioner – Requested Department Heads check in the Managing Employees section of the Employee Assistant Program.

Mike Hake, Solid Waste Director and Andy Asch, Highway Administrator discussed the disposal of the hospital and potential uses of the materials. Hake discussed the Skid Steer bid he received and the Solid Waste billing issue from the prior week. The Board recommended the fees be removed.

On a motion by Commissioner Czapanskiy, second by Commissioner Caspers, unanimous vote the Board approved allowing the Chairman to sign the Kansas grant for 2 platform steps.

On a motion by Commissioner Caspers, second by Commissioner Czapanskiy, unanimous vote the Board approved the Sexual Harassment policy for the Kansas Competitive Solid Waste program.

Recognized the deposit of American Rescue Plan Grant dollars totaling \$853,289.00.

The Board reviewed the Budget Status report and Fund Status Report as of July 31, 2022 with an ending cash balance of \$14,784,297.79.

The Board approved the following payroll expenses totaling \$168,274.31

General Fund – \$84,184.29

Appraiser - \$5,536.32

Noxious Weed - \$1,810.05

Solid Waste - \$5,732.30

Road & Bridge - \$48,046.03

County Health - \$21,101.56

Election - \$1,863.76

Payroll Deductions & Benefits - \$70,985.55

The above expense detail is available at the County Clerk's office and the Clerk's Public Records webpage.

On a motion by Commissioner Caspers, second by Commissioner Czapanskiy, unanimous vote the Board approved the August 1, 2022 minutes as presented.

On a motion by Commissioner Czapanskiy, second by Commissioner Caspers, unanimous vote the Board adjourned at 11:27 p.m., until Monday August 15, 2022.

	Cloud County Board of Commissioners
Attested:	
Tittestea.	<del></del>

	Ron Copple, Chairman
	Bill Czapanskiy, Member
Shella Thoman, County Clerk	Gary Caspers, Member